Additional logbook Marine Attack Squadrons

Home > User Files > Additional logbook Marine Attack Squadrons
DCS: World 2.5

Additional logbook Marine Attack Squadrons

Type - Mod
Author - Nekhebu
Date - 04/14/2020 13:48:37
Adds the following Marine Attack Squadrons to the list of squadrons in the logbook:

- VMA-214 (Black Sheep)
- VMA-223 (Bulldogs)
- VMA-231 (Ace of Spades)
- VMA-311 (Tomcats)
- VMA-542 (Tigers)
- VMAT-203 (Hawks)
- VMFA-211 (Wake Island Avengers)


After World War II, the United States Navy decided to combine all of the functions of the scout bomber, torpedo bomber and bomber torpedo communities into the Attack designation. On July 22, 1946, it released Bulletin No. 46-1543, which authorized the formation of attack squadrons; however, the Marine Corps did not form any until 1952.

Today, Marine attack squadrons fly the AV-8B Harrier II and are tasked with providing close air support, air interdiction, surveillance and escort of helicopters. Because the STOVL Harrier can operate from amphibious assault ships, expeditionary airfields and tactical remote landing sites, it provides commanders with more flexibility in providing air support.

The Harrier is due to be replaced by the F-35B, the STOVL version of the F-35 Lightning II. This transition began in 2016 when VMA-211 exchanged its Harriers for the F-35B and became VMFA-211.
  • License: Freeware - Free version, Unlimited distribution
  • Language: English
  • Size: 181.87 Kb
  • Downloaded: 159
  • Comments: 2